no x :(

Hey guys,

Perpetual noob here.
I'm still trying to setup that elusive Free-BSD desktop. So I installed 7.2. I installed it on a intel dual core with nVidia 7600GT and on a pentium 4 with ATI video card. On both systems I installed the packages under X user and gnome. On both I can login but no X. I followed the instructions from this document document and when I reboot gdm does not start. If I type startx i get an error message that states that an application that uses dbus has a bug, probably gdm.
Right now I gave up on the dual core but the pentium 4 is still hanging. Any ideas?

Thanks in advance,

Corneliu

PS: I succesfully installed FreeBSD 7.1 with Gnome on the dual core machine before.

Put gnome_enable="YES" in /etc/rc.conf and "exec gnome-session" (without the quotes) in ~/.xinitrc and you should be good to go with Gnome. You won't need that latter to start gdm, but it is useful if you want to start Gnome without gdm. gnome_enable will start hal, dbus, and various avahi daemons. Installing the nVidia driver is another issue, but get these to work first.

See also the FAQ at http://www.freebsd.org/gnome for issues like mounting CDs and DVDs automatically.

Thanks Dr. J, I have mentioned in my first post that I already did all that. Still Gnome does not start.

According to the document that I mentioned in my first post, the command should be:
% echo "/usr/local/bin/gnome-session" > ~/.xinitrc
so I tried that and I also tried
exec gnome-session
and I got the same error message

I'm sorry, I haven't read your post carefully. Now I've seen that it is gnome_enable="YES" instead of gdm_enable="YES". I replaced gdm_enable="YES" with gnome_enable="YES" and it works. That official tutorial got it wrong. It should be fixed there because it is misleading. Many thanks mate.

Cheers.
Corneliu

The original document is fine, it notes how to start GDM.

If you look at the GNOME faq it mentions that gnome_enable is actually all these:
Code:
dbus_enable="YES"