Multiple keyboard layouts

Hi everyone,

I'm not sure if this is a right branch to open such a thread, but the keyboard is a really shiny gadget for me - I use it a lot, and I love using it, and I need (in capital letters) to use it in some special ways as described below. :)

Simple as it is: I need the ability in fast and convenient switching keyboard layouts between English, Hebrew, and Russian. Something like famous alt+shift from well known OS. I have being trying hard to Google this issue, but all I got until this moment is feeling a complete idiot.

Ok, I'm a noob, but not an idiot. I just need someone to point me such sequence of manuals and howtos that I could read through them and implement a real life practical solution.

I really don't want to give up FreeBSD, and I believe that I don't have to. But I have to work in system that supports the described demand, no other option.

Thanks a lot!

It's pretty simple. Change layout with setxkbmap, like so:
[CMD=""]setxkbmap us[/CMD]
[cmd=""]setxkbmap ru[/cmd]

Bind commands with specific key sequence (that depends on your desktop environment).

bbzz said:
It's pretty simple. Change layout with setxkbmap, like so:
[CMD=""]setxkbmap us[/CMD]
[cmd=""]setxkbmap ru[/cmd]

Bind commands with specific key sequence (that depends on your desktop environment).

Thank you for advise and such a fast attention! :)

Though it's questionable if this will be so simple for me, because it seems that to achieve a habitual alt+shift behavior I have to find out a command(s) to detect which layout is on, and write some little conditional script.

At least I have a clue. And I obviously missed something when trying to Google this up. Sorry for bothering.

Well, hello again. :)

I just want to clarify that it was not so simple, and I finally have written my first script in bash. With the Lord's bless that's how the resolution is achieved (at least in my case):

1. The script:

Code:
#!/usr/local/bin/bash