Manually Backporting Drivers?

My laptop uses the RTL8188EE chipset for WiFi, which recently landed support in FreeBSD with this commit.

I'd like to be able to use this new driver on my laptop while remaining as close to a "stable" system as possible. What's the best way to go about doing this? I'm not sure if the driver currently only exists in 13-CURRENT or if its been backported to 12-STABLE, if I can fairly easily build it into a 12.0-RELEASE system by compiling the kernel from source, or what.

I don't really have the time to constantly tinker with a system that can crash on me at any moment (I'm a student in college), so staying as close to an official release as possible is important for me. I'm willing to put in some work at the beginning to get things working, though.

An easy (for some values of "easy") way to test if it works:
0. download source for the FreeBSD version you are running
1. build world per the procedure in the handbook (to verify that you have a working setup)
2. add the necessary patches and files from the commit in question
3. perform the 'make kernel' step of build world - if it succeeds, proceed with next step
4. test the new kernel, and see if your network chip works

If it doesn't go back to the previous kernel.

I would put this at the top of my list: Contact Farhan and ask him if there are any blockers to adding this to earlier versions.
Might save you some legwork.

Also I see MFC - 4 days.
What does that mean exactly? Will it 'Merge from Current' to FreeBSD12 Stable In 4 days time?

In other words is there a way to tell if this was merged to Stable?

This gave me the idea to try manually browsing the SVN repository for 12-STABLE and found this commit. I did not find the same commit in 12.0-RELEASE, though, so it looks like I'd have to run 12-STABLE to get the new driver.

I would put this at the top of my list: Contact Farhan and ask him if there are any blockers to adding this to earlier versions.
Might save you some legwork.