Major Version Upgrade 11.4-Release to 12.2-Release

Hello :)
I installed FreeBSD 11.4-Release on an old machine one week ago.
I noticed that today this version reached EOL.
It is my first time upgrading to a major version.
I read the handbook and search the forums for information about this subject.

freebsd-version: 11.4-RELEASE-p13; uname -r: 11.4-RELEASE-p9
Are the following steps a correct procedure for a GENERIC kernel and packages method?
# freebsd-update -r 12.2-RELEASE upgrade # freebsd-update install # freebsd-update install # pkg upgrade -f # freebsd-update install # shutdown -r now

Yep, that looks good. You don't need to add the -f to pkg upgrade though, it should detect the major version change and automatically do a reinstall of everything.

Excuse my ignorance, isn't he supposed to first go to 12.0??? and THEN go 12.2???

12.0 is older (released Dec 2018) than 11.4 (released Jun 2020), so no! In general not a good idea to "upgrade" to an older release even if the major version number is higher than your current os version.

Also, I'd just as soon upgrade to 13.0. Saving everything you care about before hand of course. In general this is a good idea because you're more likely to find help when a new release is fresh in people's minds! On the other hand the latest release may still have some issues. You have to pick your poison!

Hello :)
I installed FreeBSD 11.4-Release on an old machine one week ago.
I noticed that today this version reached EOL.
It is my first time upgrading to a major version.
I read the handbook and search the forums for information about this subject.

freebsd-version: 11.4-RELEASE-p13; uname -r: 11.4-RELEASE-p9
Are the following steps a correct procedure for a GENERIC kernel and packages method?
# freebsd-update -r 12.2-RELEASE upgrade # freebsd-update install # freebsd-update install # pkg upgrade -f # freebsd-update install # shutdown -r now