LibreOffice - Question re time to compile

I am pretty new to FreeBSD.

I am installing the LibreOffice port. It has been compiling now for about 14 hours (that is in addition to the time it took to get the dependencies installed).

My machine is an older laptop - CPU is AMD Athlon XP-M, with 512 MB RAM

Couple questions:

1) How long has this compile taken for others?
2) Is it going to take this long to compile every time there is an update to the LibreOffice port?
3) I am trying to stick to ports only and avoid packages - I have read the warnings about mixing packages and ports. Is it going to create issues if I just use one or two packages, for these really big build projects? (Right now LibreOffice is the only one that has been so big as to be really, really time-consuming.)

I enjoy using ports for lots of reasons, but if I'm going to lose my computer for a day everytime there's an update to LibreOffice, I would make an exception for this one package - as long as it doesn't cause me lots of headaches.

What say ye?

Hello zzyzcx

sadly yes every time compiling LibreOffice will take a long time. On my Athlon II X2 laptop i have 4 h fun every time but on my Phenom II X4 Desktop it's done in 2 h.
I have never used packages but imho it's ok if you use some packages. Perhaps you should use more packages than ports in my opinion your box is to slow for this much compiling.
I think it will be frustrating, if you can't use your computer if you run an update.

regards ath0

Thanks ath0.

It finally finished compiling (after about 20 hours).

For now, because I am only experimenting with FreeBSD, I will stick to ports. I am doing it as much for the learning experience as anything.

When I get up to speed on FreeBSD I will have to set it up on a faster box that will handle these challenges better.

For now - patience.