KDE and graphics card

Hi,
I am new to FreeBsd
I installed it yestersday and I tryed to use X but it was the xterm with a very little font that I cant see nothing, but it works!
Today I installed the ports from CD and made the KDE 3. Now I am starting it and it says:
Failed to load module s3virge (module des not exists)
failed to load module fbdev (module des not exists)

How can I configure a default graphics card on it?

Thanks

Alex

Do I need to create that file?
I am not sure what card i have :-(
But why does xterm works well (tiny fonts) and kde do not?

Alex

It sounds like in the process of installing KDE3, you may have updated parts of Xorg.

What's the output of 'pciconv -vl | grep vga' ? That will give us the vendor and device numbers of the video card, hopefully.

Adam

Look, after making KDE3 I runned the xterm and it worked. Then I created the .xinitrc for the kde and now it shows that 2 erros and doesnt starts.

That commands returns:
vgapci0@pci0:1:0:0: class 0x30000 card=0x8a135333 chip 0x8a1353333 rev=0x02 hdr=0x00

Thanks

Alex

Yes, xterm (with tiny fonts) works!

Other solution: Is there any way to configure xterm with a bigger fonts?

Alex

You are using startx, in both cases, to start the X server, correct? I'm guessing that your .xinitrc file is trying to start something that does not exist :) Can you attach your /var/log/Xorg.0.log file (both when X works with the xterms, and when it fails to work with your .xinitrc) to a post here? Or use a service like http://pastebin.ca/ to post them?

Adam

There is a problem :-(
I have an internet connect on the freebsd desktop but I dont know how to access forum to send the file in command line nor using the xterm :-(
Does it detect pen drives? If I plugg one there is it mounted?

Alex

If you run 'sudo pkg_add -r pastebinit' you will install 'pastebinit'. Then you can just run 'pastebinit /var/log/Xorg.0.log' and it will pastebin the file and give you a URL back.

Adam