intermittent reboot

I have been using this computer for about 2 years with no problems until about 3 months ago.
For no apparent reason it has started rebooting intermittently - no reason that I can identify.
Sometimes browsing the web, sometimes watching a video, sometimes I leave it on for 5 days with no trouble and reboots in the middle of the night with no one around.
I have tried mcelog but I just read at mcelog.org
mcelog does not start on newer AMD systems anymore
AMD stopped supporting mcelog. If you want to use it please contact AMD. Update: support is being worked on now.
Anyone have any suggestions how I can find out what can be causing this?
This is not a server but it is my main desktop. I haven't lost any important data but I need to find out what is going on before I do.
Thanks
from dmesg:
Code:
CPU: AMD FX(tm)-9590 Eight-Core Processor            (4721.59-MHz K8-class CPU)
FreeBSD 11.0-RELEASE-p12

I suspect of hardware issues.

Memory is the most usual but your processor should get quite hot.

Maybe it is the time to do a deep clean on your computer parts and, most important, change the thermal grease. I mean, it may be overheating. :eek:

Anyway, if you are using powerd (8) (or nothing) would be a good idea to start using sysutils/powerdxx instead, it often works a lot of better for most people. It does for me, I have a FX-8120 btw.

EDIT: you could also check if the power supply is not dying too.

Cheers! :beer:

I have been using this computer for about 2 years with no problems until about 3 months ago.
For no apparent reason it has started rebooting intermittently - no reason that I can identify.
Heat? Clogged up fans?

FreeBSD 11.0-RELEASE-p12
Keep in mind that 11.0 will be EoL in a month or so. Make sure you plan to upgrade to 11.1 some time soon.

I have been running it with the side cover off and there is a huge heat sink with fan attached and is VERY cool to the touch. It is as clean as the day that I put it together.