Idea: a FreeBSD-only desktop environment

Hello everyone!

I'm new here so I don't know if this is the correct forum to post this thread to :) First of all, I like FreeBSD. I like the fact that it is a complete, well thought out system.

Although what I have failed to understand why you guys don't take more measures to differentiate FreeBSD from Linux. And I don't mean that internally, (I know the internals of FreeBSD are different than Linux's) I mean in terms of user applications, desktop environments, etc. FreeBSD supports all the same applications that every other OS does, the difference is that FreeBSD supports older versions of those applications.

I'm a C/C++ programmer and I'd be willing to join the FreeBSD project to work on a FreeBSD desktop environment. I however don't know how would such a project fit into the long-term goals of FreeBSD.

Comments, thoughts are welcome.

Best regards,
Klemen

^ But PC-BSD is based on the "mainstream" KDE/GNOME/Xfce/LXDE. I guess kforstneric wants something more like OpenBSD's Xenocara+cwm or even a complete FreeBSD-specific environment built from scratch.

I'm not sure this would provide any advantage for FreeBSD though. There are already many desktop environments (and their components) for all needs and tastes. Why reinvent the wheel?
Plus it would be a significant resource drain on the developer community.

Ideas are nice. But - they only work if somebody takes an idea an actually does the work to make whatever the idea was about.
In the case of FreeBSD, the project is a volunteer effort. There are lots more ideas for FreeBSD than there are people working on implementing new features.

By all means - present new ideas, but be realistic about it; an idea has best chance of becoming reality if the people behind it are also the people trying to implement it.
So, if you have an idea for FreeBSD; learn what you need to know in order to implement it, or at least try.