I need Webmin advice

I am considering building or improving on modules in sysutils/webmin for net/hostapd and dns/dnsmasq to add features. I am not a programmer but want to dig in somewhere and it seems reasonable and doable.

Does anybody have any advice. Is Webmin too old and stale to waste my time on? I want to administer my FreeBSD wireless AP under Webmin but the hostapd module only has SSID and passphrase as options. I have been spoiled by pfSense's RRD graphs and want to add some simple features to the webmin module.

I can't seem to find any similar software that suits my taste as many "Web Control Panels" seem more oriented twords Web site hosting and databases. Am I missing another killer web front end? I looked at bootstrap but I did not like the approach.

I want to learn programming but never envisioned learning CGI and Perl. Guess you need to crawl before you can walk.

Thanks for your advice.

I am considering building or improving on modules in sysutils/webmin for net/hostapd and dns/dnsmasq to add features. I am not a programmer but want to dig in somewhere and it seems reasonable and doable.
If you're not an experienced programmer I suggest finding another project to start with. Webmin is often installed by inexperienced users and is a frequent cause of security breaches. Even for experienced programmers it's difficult to program a web application in a secure way. As a novice you are likely to make the same mistakes, inadvertently opening up a web application for exploitation.

Using the FreeNAS (or pfSense) web interface might be a better way. SirDice said about webmin what I was thinking.

There was a project several years ago to separate the FreeNAS web interface into a separate project (port). It was presented at BSDCan 2012.