I Have Never Updated My FreeBSD Computer. Where to Start?

Since installing FreeBSD 12.0-RELEASE in the summer of 2019 (thanks to the gracious help of this forum) and shortly thereafter installing Xfce and my only application, Firefox, I have not done any sort of updating on this computer. In other words, I have not upgraded to the current minor release, 12.1-RELEASE; updated to the latest patch levels; updated my one application, Firefox; or done any other update. I have basically just used this computer to browse the Web (especially freebsd.org).

If it wasn't obvious, I'm a noob.

So I was wondering where I should start in updating my computer. What is the sequence of updates you would recommend? Are there any updates I'm forgetting about? Keep in mind, in the future I plan on having more applications, such as LibreOffice, so if there's a way to update all of those at once, that would be great. One doesn't need to write out everything I need to do to upgrade to the latest minor release, for example. I have Absolute FreeBSD (3rd Edition), so I should be fine figuring out how to do this stuff on my own.

usually the updates are quite smooth. I don't know your setup, but you could use bectl to create a snapshot of your current system (zfs is obligatory, see the man page). I also keep a separate /usr/local where the pkgs are installed (in your case xfce and firefox) - if you have a separate zfs dataset for /usr/local, just make a snapshot. https://www.freebsd.org/releases/12.1R/installation.html helps you on upgrading. So in case something goes wrong you can select your old boot environment at startup (the one you made with bectl), and if your applications won't work, just do a "zfs rollback" of your /usr/local.
So I would:
*) make a boot environment with bectl, and a snapshot of /usr/local (or maybe rsync the files somewhere)
*) do a base system upgrade as described in the link above. The upgrade process will advise you at some point to update the ports, so