• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

Ι am sad :(

protocelt

Daemon

Thanks: 405
Messages: 1,253

#27
sk8harddiefast said:
Ok. Sound works now :) How can I set brightness to 100% by default? On every reboot drops to 50%
Since you previously mentioned the brightness/backlight keys work on the laptop, one way is to call x11/xbacklight from your xinitrc file when starting X or if using a WM/DE call it from a startup script. /usr/local/bin/xbacklight set 100
 

protocelt

Daemon

Thanks: 405
Messages: 1,253

#29
sk8harddiefast said:
Is it possible to have it from console mode somewhohow?
I'm not sure. Maybe if there is a sysctl knob that you can set at boot. What is the output of sysctl hw.acpi on the laptop in question?
 

sk8harddiefast

Daemon

Thanks: 197
Messages: 2,157

#30
Code:
$ sysctl hw.acpi
hw.acpi.supported_sleep_state: S3 S4 S5
hw.acpi.power_button_state: S5
hw.acpi.sleep_button_state: S3
hw.acpi.lid_switch_state: NONE
hw.acpi.standby_state: NONE
hw.acpi.suspend_state: S3
hw.acpi.sleep_delay: 1
hw.acpi.s4bios: 0
hw.acpi.verbose: 0
hw.acpi.disable_on_reboot: 0
hw.acpi.handle_reboot: 1
hw.acpi.reset_video: 0
hw.acpi.cpu.cx_lowest: C1
hw.acpi.video.lcd0.active: 0
hw.acpi.video.lcd0.brightness: 100
hw.acpi.video.lcd0.fullpower: 54
hw.acpi.video.lcd0.economy: 5
hw.acpi.video.lcd0.levels: 54 5 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100
hw.acpi.thermal.min_runtime: 0
hw.acpi.thermal.polling_rate: 10
hw.acpi.thermal.user_override: 0
hw.acpi.thermal.tz0.temperature: 54.0C
hw.acpi.thermal.tz0.active: -1
hw.acpi.thermal.tz0.passive_cooling: 0
hw.acpi.thermal.tz0.thermal_flags: 1
hw.acpi.thermal.tz0._PSV: 0.0C
hw.acpi.thermal.tz0._HOT: 127.0C
hw.acpi.thermal.tz0._CRT: 127.0C
hw.acpi.thermal.tz0._ACx: -1 -1 -1 -1 -1 -1 -1 -1 -1 -1
hw.acpi.thermal.tz0._TC1: 0
hw.acpi.thermal.tz0._TC2: 0
hw.acpi.thermal.tz0._TSP: 0
hw.acpi.battery.life: 100
hw.acpi.battery.time: -1
hw.acpi.battery.state: 0
hw.acpi.battery.units: 1
hw.acpi.battery.info_expire: 5
hw.acpi.acline: 1
Also, the x11/xbacklight trick didn't work.
 

sk8harddiefast

Daemon

Thanks: 197
Messages: 2,157

#32
It "semi worked". At the beginning it starts with 100%. After some seconds it goes to 70%, then to 50% and after that to 100% again. Isn't it just possible to have 100% all the time?

Also another big problem is that I cannot logout. The screen just gets stuck on the wallpaper and doing nothing. It is not returning to console mode. And it seems like my graphics do not work properly. Sometimes it's doing something like rendering the screen when I move a window.
 

sk8harddiefast

Daemon

Thanks: 197
Messages: 2,157

#34
I will try it tomorrow. I also fixed permissions and mounted the DVD drive and sysutils/xfburn now sees it. I still didn't make it with suspend and brightness :( I am very tired. I am going to sleep. I will post tomorrow about newcons. Goodnight all of you :)
 

sk8harddiefast

Daemon

Thanks: 197
Messages: 2,157

#35
Good morning. I compile MYKERNEL so I add
Code:
device         vt                                                              
device         vt_vga
and remove
Code:
#device        vga      
#device        sc
But trying to compile Kernel I get this:
Code:
$ cd /usr/s
/usr/sbin  /usr/share /usr/src  
$ cd /usr/src/
$ sudo make buildkernel KERNCONF=MYKERNEL
Password:

--------------------------------------------------------------
>>> Kernel build for MYKERNEL started on Thu Mar 20 13:32:31 EET 2014
--------------------------------------------------------------
===> MYKERNEL
mkdir -p /usr/obj/usr/src/sys

--------------------------------------------------------------
>>> stage 1: configuring the kernel
--------------------------------------------------------------
cd /usr/src/sys/amd64/conf;  PATH=/usr/obj/usr/src/tmp/legacy/usr/sbin:/usr/obj/usr/src/tmp/legacy/usr/bin:/usr/obj/usr/src/tmp/legacy/usr/games:/usr/obj/usr/src/tmp/legacy/bin:/usr/obj/usr/src/tmp/usr/sbin:/usr/obj/usr/src/tmp/usr/bin:/usr/obj/usr/src/tmp/usr/games:/sbin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin  config  -d /usr/obj/usr/src/sys/MYKERNEL  /usr/src/sys/amd64/conf/MYKERNEL
config: Error: device "vt" is unknown
config: Error: device "vt_vga" is unknown
config: 2 errors
*** Error code 1

Stop.
make[1]: stopped in /usr/src
*** Error code 1

Stop.
make: stopped in /usr/src
 

deflected

Member

Thanks: 2
Messages: 24

#39
Last edited by a moderator:

sk8harddiefast

Daemon

Thanks: 197
Messages: 2,157

#41
Then why I take this error?
Also freebsd-update fecth don't give me any other update.
My uname -a
Code:
FreeBSD Unix-System 10.0-RELEASE FreeBSD 10.0-RELEASE #0 r260789: Thu Jan 16 22:34:59 UTC 2014     root@snap.freebsd.org:/usr/obj/usr/src/sys/GENERIC  amd64
 

protocelt

Daemon

Thanks: 405
Messages: 1,253

#44
sk8harddiefast said:
Then why I take this error?
Also freebsd-update fecth don't give me any other update.
My uname -a
Code:
FreeBSD Unix-System 10.0-RELEASE FreeBSD 10.0-RELEASE #0 r260789: Thu Jan 16 22:34:59 UTC 2014     root@snap.freebsd.org:/usr/obj/usr/src/sys/GENERIC  amd64
You can't do a binary update to -STABLE. You can source upgrade only. Do you absolutely need access to the console after starting X? Almost everything you can do in the console, you can also do in a terminal in X.
 

sk8harddiefast

Daemon

Thanks: 197
Messages: 2,157

#45
I don't disagree but just I want know that works :) When you say source update, you mean svn? I don't want to use subversion because If I will do that, I will go to 11-CURRENT. The problem is that when time comes to update to 11-STABLE, I will get error, because 11-CURRENT is not on the RELEASES server and will stop the upgrade procedure because of this. Will tell me that me that 11-CURRENT doesn't exist and is logical. I prefer to go with the freebsd-update way
 

deflected

Member

Thanks: 2
Messages: 24

#46
Last edited by a moderator:

protocelt

Daemon

Thanks: 405
Messages: 1,253

#47
sk8harddiefast said:
I don't disagree but just I want know that works :) When you say source update, you mean svn? I don't want to use subversion because If I will do that, I will go to 11-CURRENT. The problem is that when time comes to update to 11-STABLE, I will get error, because 11-CURRENT is not on the RELEASES server and will stop the upgrade procedure because of this. Will tell me that me that 11-CURRENT doesn't exist and is logical. I prefer to go with the freebsd-update way
If you want to update to a -STABLE or -CURRENT branch then yes, you would have to use devel/subversion or svnlite which is in the base system starting with 10-RELEASE. If you can wait and since your graphics do work fine in X, I would stay with the version of FreeBSD you have installed now and wait for 10.1-RELEASE.
 

deflected

Member

Thanks: 2
Messages: 24

#48
sk8harddiefast said:
I don't disagree but just I want know that works :) When you say source update, you mean svn? I don't want to use subversion because If I will do that, I will go to 11-CURRENT. The problem is that when time comes to update to 11-STABLE, I will get error, because 11-CURRENT is not on the RELEASES server and will stop the upgrade procedure because of this. Will tell me that me that 11-CURRENT doesn't exist and is logical. I prefer to go with the freebsd-update way
You can use this article to switch to 10-STABLE - http://forums.freebsd.org/viewtopic.php?t=26140. Please note that you must use stable/10 instead of stable/9 in svn checkout.
 
Top