HTML5 in browsers (Firefox, Chrome, Midori, surf, etc.)

Hi! I'm a bit new to FreeBSD, the last time I've been thoroughly using it as a desktop system was in 2009, when there were no that lot of HTML5 videos on the Web. Now I'm running away from Linux's systemd and decided to switch back to *BSD.

The problem is HTML5 videos are either not played or not properly played (being skipped through). I've tested this in the browsers mentioned above.

E. g., from this page: http://www.quirksmode.org/html5/tests/video.html none of the videos is played, however I can scroll them and see the frame.

I'm using -CURRENT. Any hints are appreciated.

I tried the videos on that page with Konqueror (uses XULRunner or Firefox -app as the back end) and Firefox itself. In both cases, I see videos under the headings H.264/MP4, WebM, and Ogg/Theora and all three played without problems. I don't have flash installed and I built my own Firefox package with the options below.
Code:
ALSA           : on
BUNDLED_CAIRO  : off
CANBERRA       : off
DBUS           : off
DEBUG          : off
DTRACE         : off
GCONF          : off
GIO            : on
GNOMEUI        : off
GSTREAMER      : on
GTK2           : on
GTK3           : off
LIBPROXY       : off
OPTIMIZED_CFLAGS: on
PGO            : off
PROFILE        : off
PULSEAUDIO     : off
TEST           : off
This is on 10.2-STABLE (checked out nearly the revision equal to 10.2 RELEASE) and firefox-40.0_6,1.

Last edited by a moderator:
I just recently switched from 9.3-RELEASE to 10.2-RELEASE and have not any problems with video or audio in Firefox or Chrome. I'm a web developer and use HTML5 video and audio for several theatre sites without issue.