How to know knobs in using port install?

Is it knob or what? I am not sure, if I am wrong please correct. Thanks.

Sorry, I am new to FreeBSD, and I have some questions really difficult to find out the answers in ports installation, so I list them here, hope to get some insight answers.

1. How can I know exactly the "knobs" in installing?

For example, I know I can use the following command to install apache22 port, and compiling all the modules statically (knob, here I mean MPM=event, WITH_ALL...= yes )

[cmd=]make WITH_MPM=event WITH_ALL_STATIC_MODULES=yes install clean[/cmd]

But this is because I look into the Makefile.doc file to know this knob (or argument?). Or... I know I can install MySQL51 port by [cmd=]make BUILD_OPTIMIZED=yes install clean[/cmd]

That is because I read the mysql51-server port Makefile.

I am wondering if there is any documentation I can study? Or I have to study the Makefile to know them? [cmd=]make showconfig[/cmd] won't show me "WITH_MPM, WITH_ALL_STATIC_MODULES....knobs (or arguments whatever).

2. Also, I install apache, mysql, php5, php5-extensions ports in this order, It looks ok, but I am not sure is it the correct sequence to install them? I noticed there is a Makefile.ext in php5 port, which become the options list in php5-extensions port. Why?

3. Is it possible to compile php5 as a static module into apache22?

Any documents or ideas?

Thanks a lot.

benpptung said:
or I have to study the Makefile to know them?
That's the only way to find out all possible options. Not all options can be turned on/off with a configuration menu.

The portsopt (port) when run in a ports directory will show options, both those unchecked by a "choices" screen and those settable only on the command line. Some other command I used before it works similar but I don't recall its name right now.
It is
Code:
make showconfig