Help!! cannot boot in system after adding ahci

Sorry for my poor English, and I am a newbie in FreeBSD.

Today, I've followed the ahci(4) web page to load the driver as a module at boot time in /boot/loader.conf, and I am sure the ahci is enabled in BIOS.

However, after reboot, I got an ERROR!! The system prompt:

Code:
uhub2: 6 ports with 6 removable, self powered
uhub6: 6 ports with 6 removable, self powered
Trying to mount root form ufs:/dev/ad4s1a

ROOT MOUNT ERROR:
If you have invalid mount options, reboot, and first try the following from the loader prompt:

set vfs.root.mountfrom.options=rw
and the remove invalid mount options from /etc/fstab.

Loader variables:
vfs.root.mountfrom=ufs:/dev/da0s3a
vfs.root.mountform.options=rw

mountroot>
I cannot key-in any letter after mountroot>,

I cannot boot system, and have tried the safe mode, single user mode and disabled with ACPI. Mostly, the system failed to boot, and just reboot, or stuck in booting.

How can I boot in the system to edit /boot/loader.conf to remove the following line?

Code:
ahci_load="YES"

Please help! Thank you for any help!

You should look at your dmesg output and figure out what your disk(s) are detected as under ahci. The part you have shown us shows that the disk probably was ad4s1a before, but the loader variables says da0s3a. When you have figured out what your disk is named when you are using ahci, you can mount it manually at the mountroot> prompt. This will let you boot in single mode, and from there you can fix things.

In the beastie menu select "Escape to loader prompt". Then enter
Code:
unload ahci
disable-module ahci
boot

Then your system is booted without the ahci module. If I made an error in the above commands, you can use "help" to display the valid commands of the boot prompt.

lme@ said:
In the beastie menu select "Escape to loader prompt". Then enter
Code:
unload ahci
disable-module ahci
boot