Get FreeBSD better Linux...

FreeBSD is best OS but Linux more popular, why?
Becouse Linux have best hardware support...

My question: why FreeBSD make lasy hardware drivers?
Imho Better hardware support make FreeBSD is best of best UNIX OS!

Вот =)

The primary reason I switched from Linux to FreeBSD eight years ago was that FreeBSD had better support for my server hardware.. :) So in my opinion the FreeBSD hardware support is really not that bad! (for server use at least, I have little experience with FreeBSD on the desktop)

my point of view is that linux is becoming like windows, the only exception is that they ship bugs for free

btw.... lately i'm considering to try and maybe switch to OpenBSD (I like their philosophy)

I've already installed it on my usb flash

BloodyKid said:

Вот =)
Go ahead, you're free to write more/better device drivers.

Anyway, that's your answer. Someone has got to do it.

I think in the early years, freebsd was overshadowed by the copyright issue with AT&T. While linux was gaining a foothold with the people fed up with M$ only the dedicated kept working on freebsd. Two years ago, I had a service man in the office for contract work on an IBM as400 server, he asked about the other servers, I told him they were running freebsd, He said “what’s that?”.

The numbers on freebsd stats are a small percentage of the true number of installs. I know how people feel about “forced” software in the base system, I’m one of them. Enabling the bsd stat, then giving the option to opt out during an install could help with hardware support from companies.