FreeBSD in business world: some questions

Hello,

I'm a network and system admin and am managing Linux virtual machines (>15), among other OS. Thanks for this great forum, it's nice to have an official board, and not just mailing lists :)

My first love was OpenBSD, that I tried years ago to use at my work, but the lack of update automation back then required too much time to manually patch everything. Currently, I am using only Ubuntu servers (LTS version) VMs, with the huge time saving service to manage the updates: Landscape (centralised online web page to manage updates).

However, I'm slowly thinking again about a BSD OS flavor, and FreeBSD sounds like a great option :)

Some drawbacks I encounter with Linux generally, and Landscape in business:
  • updates may break something (I always do a VMware snapshot before)
  • Linux distros I tried are not consistent over time (sometimes the filesystem directory
    and configuration files change dramatically from one major version to the other)
  • Landscape is not cheap.
  • I personally do not like iptables, although I know it pretty well, it is just a matter of personal preference. I do like much more pf ;)
To sum it up, I need an easy security patch management, an OS as stable as possible and as consistent as possible, which does not break because of an update.

Does FreeBSD fit the bill? I know FreeBSD is provided as a whole OS and as such is supposed to be more stable update-wise, however can an external package (e.g Postfix MTA) not break anyway after an update?

Also, and that could be a blocking point, how do you do a distributed security patch management on many FreeBSD VMs? With Landscape, I'm warned when servers have security updates available, I can on my side do a snapshot, and then I push only security updates on the servers I want from a webpage. I would love to have a solution to that point, because I could manage 15-20 FreeBSD VMs, but it could be 200+ at another business.