FreeBSD 8.1-STABLE GENERIC kernels hang

I have been using FreeBSD for many years, on many i386 32bits platforms, from servers, to workstations, to laptops, and I have learnt my way through kernel customization.

But things have gone kind of wierd for the last year since I moved my laptop (a Lenovo R61I / Intel Pentium Dual CPU T2310 @ 1.46GHz ; 686-class CPU / 4GB)

Many of the default (GENERIC) kernels I compile simply do not boot due to not being able to open the device (dev/ad0s2a) for mounting it on / .

I have video-recorded the login process fast-paced messages of these unbootable generic kernels for clues, and the following error message was often displayed in the very beginning of the boot process :

"Cannot load /boot/loader.conf"

I should say that my /boot/loader.conf is actually a symlink to a file on the same slice (I never found anywhere this was an issue)

Could this be the cause of the problem I'm encountering, and what would it mean ?

I'm puzzled and any clue would be a great help.

Franck

/etc/src.conf
Code:
WITHOUT_DEBUG=foo
WITH_IDEA=foo
WITHOUT_ACCT=foo
WITHOUT_APM=foo
WITHOUT_ASSERT_DEBUG=foo
WITHOUT_ATM=foo
WITHOUT_BIND_ETC=foo
WITHOUT_BIND_LARGE_FILE=foo
WITHOUT_BIND_LIBS=foo
WITHOUT_BIND_LIBS_LWRES=foo
WITHOUT_BIND_MTREE=foo
WITHOUT_BIND_NAMED=foo
WITHOUT_BIND_XML=foo
WITHOUT_BLUETOOTH=foo
WITHOUT_BSNMP=foo
WITHOUT_CDDL=foo
WITHOUT_CTM=foo
WITHOUT_FLOPPY=foo
WITHOUT_GPIB=foo
WITHOUT_INET6=foo
WITHOUT_INFO=foo
WITHOUT_IPFW=foo
WITHOUT_IPX=foo
WITHOUT_KERBEROS=foo
WITHOUT_KERBEROS_SUPPORT=foo
WITHOUT_NCP=foo
WITHOUT_NETGRAPH=foo
WITHOUT_SENDMAIL=foo
WITHOUT_RCMDS=foo

/boot/loader.conf (a symbolic link to ../root/.../loader.conf)
Code:
verbose_loading="YES"
autoboot_delay="3"              # Delay in seconds before autobooting,
bitmap_load="NO"                # No bitmap during load
splash_bmp_load="NO"

firmware_load="YES"
procfs_load="YES"

kern.maxusers="16"
kern.maxfiles="2500"
kern.geom.debugflags=16

acpi_load="YES"
acpi_ibm_load="YES"