FreeBSD 13.1 in beta...

Hi Folks,

this is my very first time... But what does it mean is it in beta?
Should we wait until it is going to be "released"?

Honestly is still very confusing for me the way FreeBSD moves forward... 😓

Thanks!

You can use it. It's better than using STABLE, which is good enough for most purposes. The biggest inconvenience with STABLE, is that it doesn't have the ability to update the system by using freebsd-update. With a pre-release or upcoming release, you can upgrade beta and RC versions with freebsd-update, until time comes that it's a production release. You can wait for an RC branch, if you want.

Only if you're using a high end production environment, you may want to consider not using it.

My new upgrading strategy is to use freebsd-update for minor releases, then use a clean build for major releases. So, I plan to use freebsd-update from 13.0 to 13.1 and 13.2, and for beta and RC versions between these. I'll use a clean install for going to 14.0.

But what does it mean is it in beta?
It means it's the first 'official' release of the next version. It may still contain bugs, hence the beta life cycle.

Should we wait until it is going to be "released"?
It depends. You are very much invited to test the beta in order to root out any of the bugs that might be present. But it likely will contain bugs so don't test it on anything important. If you just want to have a stable system, wait until the official release.

SirDice

I thought a simple freebsd-install fetch install would work...

But from the HB I noticed that is used this command instead:

Code:
# freebsd-update -r 9.1-RELEASE upgrade

Is this meaning that in FreeBSD the release upgrade is only "declarative" and not generic?

Should I use this command then?

Code:
# freebsd-update -r 13.1-RELEASE upgrade

Thanks,

f.

Something got wrong... 🤔

Code:
freebsd-update -r 13.1-RELEASE upgrade
Looking up update.FreeBSD.org mirrors... 2 mirrors found.