FreeBSD 10.3 --> 11.0 zpool upgrade

Hey everyone,

I apologize in advance for my lack of knowledge.. I'm still new to FreeBSD. I need some help with my server.. It's a disaster.

zpool upgrade

I then proceeded to follow up with the

# gpart bootcode -b /boot/pmbr -p /boot/gptzfsboot -i 1 ada4

Rebooted and it's dead.

I got
Code:
gptzfsboot: error .......
and it goes on and on with errors

I don't know where to start or even how to start. Any guidance would be appreciated.

Thanks

Try booting the installer CD/DVD/Memorystick image. There's an option to start a shell (instead of the install), see what gpart show outputs. You may have an EFI booting system in which case the GPT bootcode would be wrong.

hmm oks done that... not sure how i can get the output to here..

I have 2 hdd's for the system. Which supposedly are mirrored.. but i have doubts about that (another topic).

I'm seeing 4 outputs on #gpart show.

one set is ada0 / ada1 and another is diskid/DISK-WD- .... etc

but i physically only have 2 hdds

sorry.. i'm still lost : / i not sure what i should be look for / at...

helpful?

Attachments

• IMAG21599.jpg
    IMAG21599.jpg
    42.6 KB · Views: 637
I apologize in advance for my lack of knowledge..
Only do that when you give someone bad advice, then you have a reason to apologize; this forum was meant to help out, so yah ;)

zpool upgrade

I then proceeded to follow up with the

From where did you run this? And when did you run this?

Before of after the upgrade (for example)?

Boot CD will definitely help.

I have 2 hdd's for the system. Which supposedly are mirrored.. but i have doubts about that (another topic).
# zpool list -v

I'm seeing 4 outputs on #gpart show.
Known issue, hate that part myself too. GPart shows you both the physical entries (like /dev/ada0) and the virtual ones (through the labels). Even if they're all the same.

When in doubt sysctl kern.disks (as well as dmesg) can help.