Frame.work notebook, 13th gen Intel

Thorny

Developer
Aloha,

I got an Frame.work notebook gen 13 with Intel and was not able to set it up properly :D

The first issue was the WLAN. After a while of playing around, I noticed, that the Live CD / Installation process connects to my Wifi. But after rebooting into the installed version, it could not connect to any SSID. I pinned it down to BIOS setup and now it works. With 13.2 there are sometimes crashes because of the Wifi, but I did not see any with 14 yet. [On a side note: compiling FreeBSD just took slightly over an hour at it - amazing!]

My current main issue is that I do not get graphics at all. But I am not too experienced in this area, so there is a good chance that I am doing it wrong. :D At least the Graphic device is detected via pciconf -lvv. But no card is created in /dev/dri/card0. The while /dev/dri/ is missing.

If somebody has any suggestion I am happy to test it. I would love to see this working :)

Best,
Torsten

I have the same laptop.

Right now, only scfb is working, and that scfb.conf file goes in /usr/local/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/scfb.conf

scfb.conf

Code:
Section "Device"
     Identifier "card 0"
     Driver    "scfb"
EndSection

I suspect the news is not going to be good for 13th gen:

graphics/drm-kmod does not work for the 12th - there's hope it will support it on 14, but anything 13.2 or lower will definitely not work. The linuxkpi layer is simply not compatible enough to work with the more recent linux graphics stack.
I recommend switching to another Wifi chip - it's quite easy.

Here's some more details in another thread:

Here's some on the 11th gen and some wireless chips that would work on the 12th gen as well:

Thank you for
Not sure if graphics/drm-510-kmod (for 13.x) or graphics/drm-515-kmod (for 14.x) have support the Intel graphics of the 13th generation. Looks like you might need at least 6.1 for it.