ZFS Files corrupted with ZFS and SAMBA

Hello there,

First of all, I am new to FreeBSD, I have so far only some rather limited experience with Linux though (mostly Debian).

I have a FreeBSD (version 8.1-RELEASE-p11) server running as a Samba and LDAP server.
Just for your information, I am the one who is responsible for managing it (among several other FreeBSD servers) since I replaced the sysadmin who just left the company. He didn't really have the time to explain me how the servers were configured.

Today in the morning, a user complained that he couldn't save a file on the Samba share because he got an error message saying it was full. So I connected to the server using SSH and rapidly figured out that the ZFS quota was reached for this specific share. I was able to increase its quota size which solved the aforementioned issue.

I left my terminal open in the background because I used the find command to search for some files. When I wanted to get the terminal back, I noticed that the session had time out. So I retried to connect, but to no avail. Pings to the IP address of the server also failed. Then I headed to the server room, connected a monitor to the relevant server (physical - no vm or jail) and I saw an error mentioning a kernel panic (something along those lines) and that the system was supposed to automatically reboot in like 10 or 15 sec. After a few minutes, no progression, so I decided to hard reset the server.

Then it rebooted, from what I saw there was nothing wrong or suspicious during the boot process. I logged in locally as root just to make sure nothing obvious was broken, and finally exited the root session.