Ethernet card and Graphics card Problem

Hi to all my name is Guro and i'm new to the FreeBSD OS. Yesterday i installed FreeBSD 7.1-RELEASE in my laptop. I wonder if my network ethernet card RealTek 8168C is operative with the FreeBSD?
I haven't test it yet as in dmesg i see the card but in ifconfig i get fwe0 interface which is for firewire ethernet emulation. I type dhclient -b fwe0 but no connection to internet. So i decided to build a custom kernel and exclude the firewire from it.
Do u suggest to keep in the new kernel configuration file only the re corresponding entry for the card and delete all the other NICs entries?
Also i have an NVIDIA 8400M GS which sometimes is recognized other not!How can i figure out if the card is usable from the system?
Note: At installation i enter warp_screensaver but it doesn't works and in dmesg i get error 19 for module_register_init the screensaver.Does this mean the nvidia card is not working?
Finally if i manage to get the internet connection to the FreeBSD how can i send to the forums the dmesg log from the bash shell, in order to see the configuration of the system?
Thanks for ur time

sorry i couldn't find the edit button so i write another message to say that i installed the custom kernel without firewire ethernet emulation and ip but now the network card doesn't even appear in dmesg log !

guro said:
I wonder if my network ethernet card RealTek 8168C is operative with the FreeBSD?

7.1-RELEASE does not support Realtek 8168C unfortunelly, but there are some patches for the re(4) driver to make it work with it, but I do not have any links this time, maybe someone will add them here.

You will have to rebuild kernel after that, but http://freebsd.org/handbook will help you here.

Also what is this laptop (model/other hardware)?

guro said:
Also i have an NVIDIA 8400M GS which sometimes is recognized other not!How can i figure out if the card is usable from the system?