• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

/etc/fstab error, now don't start freebsd.

rokpa92

Active Member

Thanks: 6
Messages: 131

#26
I created again /media/Data as you say.

for # kldstat:

Code:
Id Refs Address            Size     Name
 1   15 0xffffffff80100000 d188c0   kernel
 2    1 0xffffffff80e19000 23ed0    snd_hda.ko
 3    2 0xffffffff80e3d000 75708    sound.ko
 4    1 0xffffffff81022000 a8ca     fuse.ko
 5    1 0xffffffff8102d000 5ad4a    radeon.ko
 6    1 0xffffffff81088000 11454    drm.ko
for # ls /dev/ad*:
Code:
/dev/ad10       /dev/ad10s3     /dev/ad10s3d    /dev/ad11
/dev/ad10s1     /dev/ad10s3a    /dev/ad10s3e    /dev/ad11s1
/dev/ad10s2     /dev/ad10s3b    /dev/ad10s3f

for # fdisk ad11:
Code:
******* Working on device /dev/ad11 *******
parameters extracted from in-core disklabel are:
cylinders=1938018 heads=16 sectors/track=63 (1008 blks/cyl)

Figures below won't work with BIOS for partitions not in cyl 1
parameters to be used for BIOS calculations are:
cylinders=1938018 heads=16 sectors/track=63 (1008 blks/cyl)

Media sector size is 512
Warning: BIOS sector numbering starts with sector 1
Information from DOS bootblock is:
The data for partition 1 is:
sysid 7 (0x07),(NTFS, OS/2 HPFS, QNX-2 (16 bit) or Advanced UNIX)
    start 2048, size 1953517568 (953866 Meg), flag 80 (active)
        beg: cyl 0/ head 32/ sector 33;
        end: cyl 1023/ head 254/ sector 63
The data for partition 2 is:
<UNUSED>
The data for partition 3 is:
<UNUSED>
The data for partition 4 is:
<UNUSED>
i reboot and have the same error of previus thread, so i must remove again /media/Data
 

rokpa92

Active Member

Thanks: 6
Messages: 131

#28
Beastie said:
Does # mount -r -t ntfs /dev/ad11s1 /mnt even work?
yes! mount in /mnt/content of ad11s1

i reboot for try again, and do again and work again.

so..
i create Data directory m# kdir /media/Data (in terminal of kde4)
them # mount -r -t ntfs /dev/ad11s1 /media/Data
and mount great again (read & write) in /media/Data

but... if i reboot, when start again i have the error of 2 threar past, again. so i must # rmdir /media/Data and the system continues loading.

i don't know why then /media/Data it's created don't load freebsd.
and i don't know why "auto-mount" that disk follow the steps of any one say me.
 

Beastie

Daemon

Thanks: 418
Messages: 2,085

#29
Do the following commands work?
# mkdir /mnt/Data
# ntfs-3g /dev/ad11s1 /mnt/Data
(make sure /dev/ad11s1 is not already mounted when you try these)

If they do, modify /etc/fstab
Code:
/dev/ad11s1 /mnt/Data ntfs-3g rw,late 0 0
 

rokpa92

Active Member

Thanks: 6
Messages: 131

#30
Beastie said:
Do the following commands work?
# mkdir /mnt/Data
# ntfs-3g /dev/ad11s1 /mnt/Data
(make sure /dev/ad11s1 is not already mounted when you try these)

If they do, modify /etc/fstab
Code:
/dev/ad11s1 /mnt/Data ntfs-3g rw,late 0 0
Yes, sure, alway i reboot the system, the mounted devices go out.

ok.. i created /mnt/Data
and make # ntfs-3g /dev/ad11s1 /mnt/Data
now, i have to Read and Write.
and now editing for put:
Code:
/dev/ad11s1 /mnt/Data ntfs-3g rw,late 0 0
Now rebooting... wait me...

---------

Ok... i have the same same problem.
Code:
mounting late file systems: mount: /dev/ad11s1 :operation not supported by device.
mounting /etc/fstab filesystems failed, startup aborted, error aborting boot (sending SIGTERM to parent)!
init: /bin/sh on /etc/rc terminated abnormally, going to single use mode.
Enter full pathname of shell or return for /bin/sh
i # rmdir /mnt/Data and can finish the load of the system and can use again.
 

mamalos

Well-Known Member

Thanks: 48
Messages: 446

#31
Guys,

I don't know if somebody has already told this, cause I only skimmed through most posts; To automount my ntfs partition with rw option, what I have done is the following (somebody wrote the first part of it in a post already):

symlinked ntfs-3g to /sbin/mount_ntfs

and in my /etc/fstab I have my line stating:

Code:
/dev/ad4s1      /mnt/win7write       ntfs rw,late,noauto         0       0
where the partition type is ntfs and not ntfs-3g. If I have ntfs-3g in fstab, and try to mount my /mnt/win7write partition, I get the error:

Code:
mount: /dev/ad4s1 : Operation not supported by device
So, I think that if you put ntfs instead of ntfs-3g in your fstab, and if you have symlinked ntfs-3g to /sbin/mount_ntfs, you will achieve automounting the ntfs partition with rw permissions when booting (provided that the mount directory exists).

Sorry if I misunderstood something on the subject, just trying to help :).

Good luck.
 

rokpa92

Active Member

Thanks: 6
Messages: 131

#32
Please!

Could you explain step by step to have a "symlinked"? is that I am so new that do not understand how this is done.
you have given me great hope
 

mamalos

Well-Known Member

Thanks: 48
Messages: 446

#33
What you do is the follwoing, type:

Code:
# mv /sbin/mount_ntfs /sbin/mount_ntfs.orig
# ln -s /usr/local/bin/ntfs-3g /sbin/mount_ntfs
as root. With the first command you rename the original mount_ntfs executable in the /sbin directory with the name mount_ntfs.orig, and with the second command you create a symbolic link (something like, but not at all, shortcut in windows parlance) of ntfs-3g in the /sbin directory, but with the name mount_ntfs, which is what fstab recognizes.

Now, in your /etc/fstab file, replace ntfs-3g with ntfs and it should work.

Try it first, as has already been stated in a previous post, by typing:

Code:
# mount /mnt/windows
or whatever is the path to the directory to which you wish to mount your ntfs partition.

Good luck
 

rokpa92

Active Member

Thanks: 6
Messages: 131

#34
doing (but with the directory /media/Data)
and work. i can read and write.
now put in /etc/fstab the next line
Code:
/dev/ad11s1  /media/Data  ntfs  rw,late  0 0
now wait me, i reboot....
(cross the finger and good luck)
 

rokpa92

Active Member

Thanks: 6
Messages: 131

#35
YES MAN! It's work now!
Thanks so so much!
Work perfect!
now i can plug more drive and make my projectt.
Thanks thanks a lot.
 

mamalos

Well-Known Member

Thanks: 48
Messages: 446

#37
DutchDaemon you're half right :). The only thing that SirDice omitted to state in #4 was to remove ntfs-3g from fstab and replace it with ntfs.

This is what I realized after skimming through the replies of this topic, and I thought it would be worth mentioning, since otherwise it wouldn't work.

Glad too it's over; enjoy your project dude!
 

DutchDaemon

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator

Thanks: 2,493
Messages: 11,095

#39
You know this is just a matter of doing the exact same thing in two different ways, right? ;)

SirDice:
Symlink /usr/sbin/mount_ntfs-3g to /usr/local/bin/ntfs-3g and use ntfs-3g as the filesystem.
mamalos:
Symlink /sbin/mount_ntfs to /usr/local/bin/ntfs-3g and use ntfs as the filesystem
 

mamalos

Well-Known Member

Thanks: 48
Messages: 446

#40
Yes DutchDaemon, now I saw what you meant. I hadn't seen the mount_ntfs-3g in SirDice's symlink. It's the same thing.
 

DutchDaemon

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator

Thanks: 2,493
Messages: 11,095

#42
I'd like to add (as I did in the HowTo that rokpa92 wrote in the meantime) that the symlink named /sbin/mount_ntfs is likely to be overwritten by an OS upgrade ( make installworld or [cmd=]freebsd-update[/cmd]).

Using the /usr/sbin/mount_ntfs-3g symlink and the ntfs-3g target in /etc/fstab will not suffer that fate.
 

rokpa92

Active Member

Thanks: 6
Messages: 131

#43
DutchDaemon said:
I'd like to add (as I did in the HowTo that rokpa92 wrote in the meantime) that the symlink named /sbin/mount_ntfs is likely to be overwritten by an OS upgrade ( make installworld or [cmd=]freebsd-update[/cmd]).

Using the /usr/sbin/mount_ntfs-3g symlink and the ntfs-3g target in /etc/fstab will not suffer that fate.
thanks! add in the "how to" to. ;)
 

mamalos

Well-Known Member

Thanks: 48
Messages: 446

#44
DutchDeamon,

I tried symlinking /usr/local/bin/ntfs-3g to /sbin/mount_ntfs-3g, then edited my fstab to read ntfs-3g, and lastly I tried to mount it via:

Code:
# mount /mnt/win7write
mount: /dev/ad4s1 : Operation not supported by device
/dev/ad4s1 is my ntfs partition and /mnt/win7write is my mountpoint. My /etc/fstab file reads:

Code:
/dev/ad4s1  /mnt/win7write  ntfs-3g  rw,late,noauto  0       0
Is there something wrong with my configuration?

Until now I was using ntfs as my filesystem type I and was symlinking /sbin/mount_ntfs to ntfs-3g; after reading your comment about upgrading, I decided to change it, since at every upgrade I had to recreate the symlink. Now, I see that it won't work, but I assume I'm making something wrong.
 

mamalos

Well-Known Member

Thanks: 48
Messages: 446

#46
The first one works (otherwise ntfs-3g wouldn't work either way :) ), the second one gives the message of my previous post.

After SirDice's post regarding the symlink to /sbin/mount_ntfs-3g, I made an assumption that fbsd's mount -t lala command "checks" if /sbin/mount_lala exists, and if so it uses it to mount the specified partition. Now, I re-assume that the filesystem types supported by mount must be hardcoded somewhere.
 

DutchDaemon

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator

Thanks: 2,493
Messages: 11,095

#47
Unfortunately, you may be right in that. I think that it may not be possible to use ntfs-3g in fstab, because mount has a fixed list:

Code:
            However, for the following file system types: cd9660, mfs,
             msdosfs, nfs, nfs4, ntfs, nwfs, nullfs, portalfs, smbfs, udf, and
             unionfs, mount will not call nmount(2) directly and will instead
             attempt to execute a program in /sbin/mount_XXX where XXX is
             replaced by the file system type name.  For example, nfs file
             systems are mounted by the program /sbin/mount_nfs.
So it looks like the /sbin/mount_ntfs -> /usr/local/bin/ntfs-3g symlink, plus the ntfs target in fstab is the only way to do this.

The downside is, as noted, that the symlink needs to be restored after a make installworld (and preferably before a reboot after that ..).
 

mamalos

Well-Known Member

Thanks: 48
Messages: 446

#48
Thanx DutchDaemon,

rokpa92, you may want to return your howto to its initial version (symlinking /usr/local/bin/ntfs-3g to /sbin/mount_ntfs, and using ntfs as the partition type in /etc/fstab), and at the point of the symlink, explain what DutchDaemon says about restoring the symlink after installworld.
 

Belabalu

New Member


Messages: 1

#49
Hello Everybody,

I had the same problem that rocpa92, but I don't know, how I can continue booting just exit the shell (the mentioned answer #2) after, that I type there:

"fsck -y
mount -u /
mount -a -t ufs
swapon -a"

That I would can edit /etc/fstab and fix the error.

Please somebody type it.
Thanks a lot!