email attachment always corrupt in FreeBSD8.2/amd64

Hi all,

I've been using FreeBSD/i386 since 2004 for all my servers. Recently I got two identical servers and installed FreeBSD 8.2/i386 for one server
and FreeBSD 8.2/amd64 for the other.

I started using the amd64 one for my mail server:
- Sendmail 8.14.4 as the MTA
- popd-2.2.2 as the POP3
- NOCC and Openwebmail as the MUA

Everything works fine, I can send and receive email with an attachment. But there's one problem: if the attachment is bigger than around 60KB
it always corrupts every time it was downloaded/viewed (whether I used NOCC, Openwebmail, Microsoft Outlook, Mozilla Thunderbird, it always gives the same result: File is corrupt!)

I startws checking whether there's a missing configuration in Sendmail, popd, NOCC, Openwebmail, but no effect. Then finally I tried to move my mail file (/var/mail/bogi) to the other server (the one that use FreeBSD 8.2/i386) and everything works fine (I am able to download the same attachment).

Was there something I missed in FreeBSD8.2/amd64?

My servers are: IBM Server Blade x3250.

Thanks in advance.

Use md5(1) to verify the file is the same on both 32-bit and 64-bit systems. I'd guess a word size bug at 64K in the program that's trying to extract or view the attachment, but there aren't enough details to really say. What kind of attachment, in what format?

thanks for the reply,

even the size of the attachment file is different from the original (smaller)
so I don't have to use md5 to check both file (original and attachment).

and it failed for every kind of attachment, doc, docx, xls, xlsx, rar, zip,
even a text file is corrupt (as long as the size is bigger than 60KB).

oh.. I forgot 1 detail, when I send an email to somewhere else (ex. gmail and yahoo)
the attachment are fine, it only corrupt when I have the email in my mail server.