Dual Homed Systems

Situation: 2 upPlinks, 2 different ISPs and 1 machine.

Current Setup:
em0 uses mpd5 for pppoe
em1 uses static IP settings for the cable LAN; the em1 interface is DMZ'd from the router hosting the cable connection.

Problem:
When I pull up my pppoe connection I lose my route to the 10.0.0.0/24 network. Now accessing the box from the cable LAN works but if I try to say ssh the DMZ'd interface from a totaly different remote machine it does not seem to let me go, although via netstat I do see a SYNRCVD on the ssh port but the connection is never built.

Now I've tried several different ways of routing but none of it seems to work properly. It's almost as if I need to use one connection at a time or something along those lines.

I'm using 9-0RC3 with a GENERIC kernel.

I've read setfib could help but I'm a bit new to BSD's routing capabilities . (Former IPTables user)

In what range is the pppoe interface and what range is being used in the DMZ (I'm guessing it's 10.0.0.0/24 there)?

The problem is that returning IP for remote machine must be sourced from IP you are connecting to (DMZ interface). If you have default route pointing to pppoe connection that it fails.

(I think that's what you are getting at?)

Yes, I'm guessing the default gateway has something to do with it. But if all three interfaces are in different subnets it should still work regardless of what happens to the default gateway.

That's why I'm thinking the pppoe and DMZ interfaces share the same subnet which would cause problems.

The way its setup is like this

Cable Link - DMZ - em1
PPPoE Link - ng0 - em0

ifconfig

Code:
em0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
        options=219b<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,VLAN_HWCSUM,TSO4,WOL_MAGIC>
        ether 00:15:17:30:a1:d4
        inet6 fe80::215:17ff:fe30:a1d4%em0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x1
        nd6 options=23<PERFORMNUD,ACCEPT_RTADV,AUTO_LINKLOCAL>