ZFS Do commercial NAS manufacturers use ZFS technology?

I am quite new to the world of FreeBSD, so please bear with me.

In these commercial NASs, customers could add HDDs to it whenever they want to. I am just curious if these commercial NASs use ZFS. Because, AFAIK, you can not add HDDs to an established vdev anymore. Therefore, what kind of software do these commercial NAS manufacturers use for their NAS products?

Thanks,

Last edited by a moderator:
Which commercial NAS devices are you referring to? They all do things their own way. Drobo have their own RAID software which allows arrays to be extended and use various sizes of disks, I have no idea how that works, never had one. Netgear's original X-RAID ('Xtensible' RAID) was just using Linux md which allowed disks to be added. They also did a lot messing about in the background, splitting disks into smaller partitions and RAIDing the partitions across different disks to allow disks of different sizes to be used, whilst making use of as much disk space as possible.

Some commercial NAS's will just use off the shelf hardware controllers, and will support extending arrays of the controller supports it. Many hardware controllers support extending parity based arrays.

The big guys like NetApp use their own RAID hardware and software, although they probably don't use the term NAS to refer to their enterprise kit. NetApp actually use FreeBSD but every part of the system that interacts with users and the disks is custom.

There are a few devices on the market that use ZFS. I've come across some over the past few years, although I can't name any off the top of my head (other than FreeNAS/TrueNAS). I've no doubt any devices built on ZFS will have the same limitation when it comes to extending parity vdevs. The Netgear 'ReadyDATA' devices use ZFS as far as I'm aware, or at least did originally. They may have moved to BTRFS now, which they have done with their newer ReadyNAS business kit.