Cannot make Xorg to work

Hi everybody!

First of all, I just want to tell you that I'm complete newbie to FreeBSD, so I need all of your help.

For last three days, I'm trying to get KDE to work, but I simply can't. I tried everything, read forums, book ( yes, handbook, IHRTFM ). I have IBM R50e on which I want to install it.

Please, can someone assist me? I must tell you, that you have to explain me like a child some things about UNIX in general. For example, dont ask me to send you log file, because I don't know how and where to send it. :)

I have installed everything, all packages and ports needed, but can't run Xorg or KDE.

When I try to configure, I get blank screen. When I try that with -retro, same thing. When I run startx I get blank screen also.

Kinda desperate now, this is third time that I'm trying to use *nix system and I'm hope it is last time.

login as root and execute the following commands:

Code:
rm /root/.xinitrc
Xorg -configure
mv ./xorg.conf.new /etc/X11/xorg.conf
echo 'hald_enable="YES"' >> /etc/rc.conf
echo 'dbus_enable="YES"' >> /etc/rc.conf
reboot

now login as root again, then:

Code:
startx

if it is still now showing something like this: picture of twm
then do the following:

-hit ctrl+alt+f3 together
-login as root

Code:
less /etc/X11/xorg.conf

-type all of the output from the above command (use up and down keys to scroll) into the website at pastebin.com
-remember the url of the pastebin results
-repeat the above three steps but instead of doing "less /etc/X11/xorg.conf" do "tail /var/log/Xorg.0.log"

-now post the 2 pastebin urls to this thread and me or someone else will tell you what is going wrong.

No. Don't start X as root. Bad idea. Root should only be used to install software, but X should be started as a regular user.

mlharvey said:
login as root and execute the following commands:

Code:
rm /root/.xinitrc
Xorg -configure
mv ./xorg.conf.new /etc/X11/xorg.conf
echo 'hald_enable="YES"' >> /etc/rc.conf