Cannot edit /etc/rc.conf

Hello everyone. I'm new to freebsd and just got my box running and started installing stuff on it. I messed up rc.conf and now when I boot it tells me this.

Code:
Loading configuration files.
apache22_enable: not found
/etc/rc.conf: 17: Syntax error: Unterminated quoted string
Enter full pathname of shell or RETURN for /bin/sh:

I assume that is because I wrote this in rc.conf

Code:
apache22_enable = "YES"

instead of this

Code:
apache22_enable="YES"

or maybe because I forgot a quote on

Code:
webmin_enable="yes

Either way I need to go and edit /etc/rc.conf. I login as root and try to use vim to edit it and I get these errors.

Code:
W10: Warning: Changing a readonly file
E303: Unable to open swap file for "etc/rc.conf", recovery impossible
Press ENTER or type command to continue.

Code:
"/etc/rc.conf" E212: Can't open file for writing

How can I edit /etc/rc.conf? Thanks in advance.

IIjkII said:
Code:
W10: Warning: Changing a readonly file
E303: Unable to open swap file for "etc/rc.conf", recovery impossible

Code:
"/etc/rc.conf" E212: Can't open file for writing

Is your root filesystem mounted read-only? I believe that can/does happen when you have an error in rc.conf. I also remember seeing a similar thread to this not too long ago.

Thanks for the quick reply. It might be, it's all in grey txt now and I don't know what that meant. I assumed it was some sort of emergency shell. I also tried mounting the disk to /mnt and I got the same errors.

With # fsck you check the filesystems, # mount -u / mounts the root partition read/write, # mount -a -t ufs mounts all UFS partitions, so you can use vi and other tools in /usr.

Newbie here, might be a stupid question but..

What caused / partition to be mounted read only in this case? I resolved similar issue by doing what SirDice said but I still don't know what's really going on.