Building kernel modules without kernel source code

Hi! I am new to FreeBSD, and have been an avid Linux user till now. I was wondering if there is a way to build a FreeBSD kernel module without the actual kernel source code installed. (Like linux has the /lib/modules/<kernelversion>/ directory which allows us to build a kernel module against, by using just the specified interfaces). I tried googling for this, to no use :(

Thanks in advance!

Or is this a theoretical question?

Would be extremely difficult.

Is there a reason you can't just extract the full kernel sources somewhere?

Yes there is a very good reason why I cant do it. The actual kernel has been "proprieterized", and the source code not released to me.

I tried compiling on vanilla FreeBSD 6.1, and it does load successfully into the proprietary FreeBSD kernel, but panics the kernel as soon as I start using it.

> Or is this a theoretical question?

How I would have wished it was a theoretical question only! But unfortunately if I cant do this soon, I better have a very good reason why it cannot be done. I do not have enough knowledge to say exactly why it can or cannot be done.

My *unsupported* belief is that - Linux, due to GPL issues, has a well defined set of symbols exported (through EXPORT_SYMBOL and EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL), But freeBSD not encumbered by GPL has no such interfaces, and you can technically call into any function inside the core kernel. Does this make any sense? Can it be true? I do not have enough experience with FreeBSD to verify it myself.

holycow said:
Yes there is a very good reason why I cant do it. The actual kernel has been "proprieterized", and the source code not released to me.

I tried compiling on vanilla FreeBSD 6.1, and it does load successfully into the proprietary FreeBSD kernel, but panics the kernel as soon as I start using it.