BSD 2-Clause license. What is allowed?

I would like to get some clarification on FreeBSD driver licensing and what is permissible.
Lets say I want to contribute a driver for INA3221 under the most permissive license. BSD-2 clause.

What is the critera for looking at other licensed code. Is it allowed at all? No copying obviously.
Where does taint begin?

We have GPL-2.0 license source from TI:

And BSD licensed source here:

Am I now legally tainted by looking at the GPL licensed code?

I only offer this as a hypothetical question.
I am not a programmer and could not make a driver without help.
Don't take the legal aspect seriously.

Was this kind of question ever answered definitively in legal terms? Would that even apply to all countries of the world equally?
Kind of reminds me of "Halt and Catch Fire Season 1" and its depiction of the clean room reimplementation of the IBM bios.
If you follow recent Oracle vs Google developments, you might get scrutinized for even duplicating an API. And with the looming question whether software patents can actually be enforced, it gets dicier and dicier.

Obviously, if you implement particular syscalls to provide network functionality, you might expect some structural similarity to the GPL code, whether you like it or not. Then again, I haven't looked at that source code either, so maybe there's ways around it.

How would you even prove that you never looked at the code (unless you admit it)? Last I remember is, you can't prove a negative?

Thinking about device drivers, my experience is the people making the hardware demand all kinds of NDAs to even look at documentation.
So if you need an NDA to look at the docs, can you legally release a driver under any open source license?

As for the specific question of "if I looked at GPL code can I create BSD licensed code?" I'm not sure, part of me says "I think you should be able to" but not being a lawyer, I don't know.