Broadcom 4401 chipset defaults to 10baseT/UTP Connection

Hello all,

I have a old P4PE motherboard that I'm using to run a file server. I'm actually using FreeNAS but that runs on top of FreeBSD 6.4. The problem that I'm having is that when FreeBSD first starts up it sees my network card as 100baseTX capable when running ifconfig from the command line. However once I start transfering a file from my desktop computer to the BSD computer the connection drops to 10baseT/UTP I have tried forcing the connection using the ifconfig command however as soon as I force it to 100baseTX I loose the connection all together, it wont ping google or my desktop computer.

I know the connection (nic and cable) are not the problem because I used to have Xubuntu installed on this same machine and it worked fine. I haven't touched anything other than opening the CD drive since then.

This is my first time with BSD so I'm hoping that I'm just doing something that is obviously wrong but I can't figure out what it is.

I also posted my problem on the FreeNAS forums but I haven't been able to figure it out yet and I figured you guys over here would be more experienced with the command line part of BSD.

here is a link to the other post just in case
https://apps.sourceforge.net/phpbb/freenas/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=978&p=4137#p4137

Thanks for any help you can give

Well, BCM 4401 uses the bfe(4) driver (perhaps you knew that).
Are there any messages (related to the nic) in /var/log/messages?
Or on the console? (I have never used FreeNAS myself, are the console messages viewable somewhere at all?)
Are there any errors on the interface?

Yeah I knew that was the driver it used and I checked the man page for it and made sure that the 100baseTX and full-duplex commands would work.

(NIC) nfe0 good to Loopback, but? ... Guidance Requested

Hello All,