Best practices for Poudriere and serving a repository with HTTP or other methods

Hello everyone! A few weeks ago I started learning FreeBSD, reading the handbook and Michael W. Lucas books. Everything is so wonderful about FreeBSD and I can't wait to use it more in my production environment.

I have setup a simple poudriere jail on my FreeBSD host just to have packages available in my local network and with options enabled, including insults for sudo of course, classic fortune messages and some others. If you have some other recommendations for lesser known port options I'd love to hear about them :)

Poudriere has built the packages and if I configure the host to use as a repository the protocol file:///<path> it works. I want to serve this repository to other hosts in the local network. I see some solutions, but I am wondering if there is like a most common way to set this up. Some options I see are:
  • Setup www/nginx in the FreeBSD host itself to serve the poudriere directory which has the build status and packages. Would be the simplest, but it is a tad insecure since you are serving files on the actual host. I tried looking up if it was possible to install a webserver on the poudriere jail but I think its not possible, might be that the poudriere jail is special.
  • Setup a jail and install Poudriere there. I am uncertain if that would work because that would mean the jail would also setup another jail in it. Would the second level poudriere jail be able to access system resources like ZFS datasets? If it did work however, you would install the webserver on the first level jail and serve the files.