AMD64 - Fatal trap 9 (both 7.4 and 8.2)

A total newbie to FreeBSD, have some experience with linux (mostly Debian and Arch). My hardware is an on (Asus) AMD Athlon 64. I got the computer from some friends I have that bought a new one, Windows 95 had crashed on it before I got it but the man in the household had a habit of exploring the computer so this does not imply that anything would be wrong with the hardware.

I get this error when running the AMD64 install

Code:
Fatal trap 9: general protection fault while in kernel mode
cpuid = 0; acpi id = 00
instruction pointer                            = 0x8:0xffffffff805c27d0
stack pointer                                  = 0x10:0xffffff800000f9e0
frame pointer                                  = 0x10:0xfffff800030fec0
                                               = base 0x0, limit 0xfffff, type 0x1	
                                               = DPL 0, pres 1, long 1, def32 0, gran 1
processor eflags                               = interrupt enabled, resume, IOPL = 0
current process                                = 1 (swapper)
trap number                                    = 9
panic: general protection fault
cpuid = 0
Uptime: 1s
Cannot dump, No dump device defined
Automatic reboot in 15 seconds - press a key on the console to abort

I have tried finding some form of documentation on what the problem might be with no luck. Both google and freeBSD.org come short when I try to find anything on this subject. I've managed to find a few forum threads here and there but no solution to the problem, most threads died a few years ago.

I have been able to get to par 2.6 of the online manual - Choosing Your Installation Media using a i386 DVD. This crashes after a few seconds after proceding beyond 2.6.

What I have done:
- Messed about with the ACPI settings, this has not made any difference.
- Tried different menu option, this has not made any difference.