7.1-Release to 8.1-Release w/raid5

I am a newbie to this forum so please be gentle...

7.1-Release was running wonderfully. I followed the instructions for the FreeBSD Update. All was going well until the first "shutdown -r now" and the box didn't come back. This is not a critical system so I have the luxury to play.

I went to the console and it was at a:
Code:
root mount error
try to mount from ufs:/dev/aacd0s1a
and the rest of the recomendation about rebooting and editing fstab...I could boot from a cd and reinstall but that would be no fun.

after hacking...I can get it to a # prompt by entering /dev/aacd0 but the system is munged (technical term).

? reveals
Code:
ufsid/4d2f41f404404dc0 ufsid/4d2f41f46156b62b ufsid/4d2f42059bf43035 ufsid/4d2f41f4e3c83449 aacd0f aacd0e aacd0d aacd0b aacd0a aacd0 acd0 fd0 

fstab
/dev/aacd0slb             none               swap              sw
/dev/aacd0s1a             /                  ufs               rw
/dev/aacd0s1e             /tmp               ufs               rw
/dev/aacd0s1f             /usr               ufs               rw
/dev/aacd0s1d             /var               ufs               rw
any thoughts or input would be appreciated.

It's most likely due to a stale copy of the disklabel. I've had the same issue but with a 'regular' harddrive. This seemed to solve it (make a backup though!):

# dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/aacd0 count=1 oseek=1

implemented the command as stated; rebooted; after the post and bios messages, I get nothing... not even a boot device not found.

Am I reinstalling? or is there a recovery method?

Hmmm... It's not supposed to do nothing. It's supposed to boot properly. Did you make a back up of that sector?

Try booting a livefs and see if the partitions and slices are still there.