6.3 or 7.0 is easier for a newb?

I'm a Windows admin crossing over to Unix. A developer needs me to set up Apache, My SQL, PHP and some other stuff.
I'll be using an older Supermicro server with an P4SCE motherboard.
I'm looking for minimum hassle. I should be able to follow installation instructions and Google error messages but don't expect to become a *nix guru.
Which version should I start with 6.3 or 7.0? What would be my single best resource to read up on? (besides this forum and the actual documentation)

Generally speaking, a newer release will have better hardware support (unless your hardware is very old) and more features, so I'd suggest 7.0 (or the 7.1 beta, if you feel a bit adventurous).

On the other hand, 6.3 is a more tested codebase (it's only seen conservative changes since 6.0), so it is in some ways a safer choice. Either should work fine.

Small tip: Don't install any packages from the CD, use the ports tree afterwards instead. You'll have to compile things, but you'll get the newest (most patched) version, and you can configure a few more things.
Also, I'd suggest using portsnap to update the ports tree: Just do "portsnap fetch extract" and it will download and unpack the newest version for you. (If you want to update it later, use portsnap fetch update, which only updates the changed parts.)

The handbook is a useful place to start - e.g. chapter 4 (ports/packages), or 30.7 (how to install apache with PHP5).

For a single core system I'd still suggest 6.3. 7.0 was a piece of crap on single core systems. Certain file operations lock up the whole system because the tty and vfs subsystems are still in GIANT. With 7.1 lots of bottlenecks will have been removed, so that the problems are barely recognizable unless you trigger them on purpose (for testing).