How to diagnose no sound?

Dell Inspiron 8100
Not getting any sound outta the laptop's speakers (no headphone jack) when playing music CDs, WAVs or mp3s.
I've got current/latest of both xime and VLC and both appear to be "playing", but I just get no sound. The laptop volume's all the way up and the mutes are NOT on.
Code:
cat /dev/sndstat....
Installed devices:
pcm0: <ESS Technology Maestro3> (play/rec) default
No devices installed from userspace.

kldstat....
ID     Refs     Address           Size     Name
2       1          0x2032000     badc    snd_maestro3.ko
I've been running BSD on this laptop for many years with sound, so I know the hardware works. But I just wiped BSD12 from the drive and installed a fresh copy of BSD 13.1-RELEASE i386.
BSD appears to see the hardware and is loading the driver, but no sound. After spending alotta time reading man pages and trying fixes I found in forum postings, I'm kinda stuck..

I read mixer was/is rewritten completely, maybe one of the reasons!?

Code:
amw@t430 ~> mixer     
Mixer vol      is currently set to  37:37
Mixer pcm      is currently set to 100:100
Mixer line     is currently set to  75:75
Mixer mic      is currently set to  25:25
Recording source: mic
Apart from mixer vol 100, you could try mixer pcm 100 if applicable.

I saw this in my/etc/sysctl.conf: hw.snd.vpc_0db=45

Apart from mixer vol 100, you could try mixer pcm 100 if applicable.
Both vol and pcm were set to 75:75, so I don't think that's the bottleneck. But, just to cover all the bases, I tried 100, but no change. Still nothing coming outta the speakers.
However, igain, phin and phout are set to 0:0. I upped them to 100, but, frustratingly, still no-go.

I hadn't thought of checking the mixer config, so thank you for that!

Volume controls buttons can be hard wired on the Maestro3 . You could try
Code:
hint.pcm.0.hwvol_config="0"
in /boot/device.hints (cf. snd_maestro3(4)).

Howether, to check sound, you can use this command:
sh: