Solved Can FreeBSD 13.0-RELEASE work with an older nvidia card?

Hello. I'm new to FreeBSD, and I've just installed 13.0-RELEASE. After I installed xorg, I did "# pkg install nvidia-driver" which directed me to the legacy 390.x drivers on the NVIDIA website, as it said that the new 470.x driver would ignore my GPU. (I have a NVIDIA GeForce GT 430 card) I downloaded that, did a make / make install. I installed enlightenment, xfce, and a few other window managers and everything seemed to work ok for a few days, but eventually X would just hang in the middle of me doing something, with a frozen black screen with a few grey rectangles on it. In the doc for the 390.x driver, under min. requirements I see "Note that FreeBSD 7-STABLE versions older than FreeBSD 7.3 and FreeBSD 10-CURRENT development snapshots are not supported." Other min requirements are: " XFree86/X.Org 4.2/6.7.0" and " libvdpau * 0.2". Am I running entirely the wrong version of FreeBSD to get it to work with my model nvidia card? Should I do a fresh install of FreeBSD 7.3? Or is it feasible to try to get my card to work with 13.0-RELEASE ? Any input would be appreciated. Thanks.

You shouldn't install FreeBSD 7.3. According to the nvidia driver page the most recent driver for your card is 390.147, released: 2021.12.16. The problem you described is not necessarily problem with your graphic card, it maybe "anything" - CPU overheating, memory error (check it with memtest) or even disk failing. But if you still suspect your GPU check /var/log/Xorg.0.log after it crashed.

I ended up doing a clean install of 13.0, installing the driver from the x11/nvidia-driver-390 port you mentioned, instead of from the NVIDIA site. Everything is working great now (so far), tested it with XFCE and no crashes / hangs. Thanks a lot! Great community here.