Deploying Multiple Systems ==> Drives, Filesystems, Imaging, Etc.

Hi. I'm new to FreeBSD, but learning.

Want to make sure I'm heading in the right direction.

Currently doing test builds on servers and clients.

Here is what I'm considering, any feedback is greatly appreciated.

SERVERS:
For 3 small businesses.
Each server = 6 hard drives,
1 boot/operating system drive, (UFS or ZFS, not yet sure)
3 mirrored "Data" drives. (ZFS)
2 mirrored "Local Backup" drives. (ZFS)
(each server has a SCSI tape drive for long term storage.)

SERVER QUESTIONS:
1.) Does this seem like a reasonable drive arrangement?
2.) Re: the boot/operating system drive, if I go with UFS I can use Clonezilla to image, for quick cold-metal restores.
I've yet to work with ZFS, not sure if can clone/image a whole system like with Clonezilla.
Clonezilla does not support ZFS.
Whats the best choice for this drive - ZFS or UFS, and why?

CLIENTS:
I'll be deploying the same basic client, with minor differences, to 20+ workstations, possibly more.
Would like to store the setups (images) in some way for rapid deployment.
1 (single) or 2 (mirrored) drives containing everything. (ZFS)

CLIENT QUESTIONS:
1.) Whats the better file system for clients, ZFS or UFS?
UFS I can image with Clonezilla.
I've yet to work with ZFS, not sure if can clone/image a whole system like with Clonezilla.
Clonezilla does not support ZFS.
Whats the best choice for client drives - ZFS or UFS, and why?

Any and all feedback greatly appreciated!
Sharing of similar use-cases greatly appreciated, if possible!!

Thanks,
Dave

ZFS vs UFS
They are both good. It is a personal choice. You should try both and make your own decision. Neither would be a mistake so you cannot go too wrong.

No need to clone with third party software, all the tools are there in FreeBSD. But better still, if you have to install a fresh, then install a fresh!

ZFS vs UFS