BSD licensing

Hey folks,

i'm an absolute novice when it comes to freebsd. never installed the base OS. my experience with it is through pfsense. that will change in time however (meaning, when resources become available, i will set up a freebsd box to learn on).

that being said. BSD is incredible. Hats off to the engineers.

here's my question; if the xBSD's are open source, in an effort to protect it, why isnt the BSD license amended to be more like the gnu gpl? my reasoning is that there are companies like netgate and opnsense that, while it's great they're huge contributors, they're ultimately creating a product to profit from the work of the original design. Yes, FreeBSD is available to all, however products like pfsense are slowly and quietly going down the path of making it proprietary. I would still want to see Berkley as the custodian and engineer behind it, and to continually scrutinize the source to maintain its excellence, however no one should have the right to take said source and hijack it to be sold as their own for profit. again, it hasn't happened yet, but it's quietly going down that path..

There are many folks (like me) in the community who are concerned that the xBSDs will ultimately be commandeered by 3rd parties and we'll lose the base product. apparently it's a known fact that microsoft took much of the source of the freeBSD tcp/ip stack and used it in windows NT+..

sorry, very long winded question/rant by a concerned citizen of this community.

comment?

if the xBSD's are open source, in an effort to protect it, why isnt the BSD license amended to be more like the gnu gpl?
Why do you think only the GPL can protect it? The BSD license protects it just fine.

they're ultimately creating a product to profit from the work of the original design.
Yes, and they have every right to do that because the BSD license allows this.

I would still want to see Berkley as the custodian and engineer behind it,