Influence (new) hardware on strenuous tasks

I intend to use FreeBSD also on a desktop/server CPU, NVME SSD & DDR4 (and graphics card). Currently using FreeBSD REL-12.2 (and XFCE) (binaries, packages) on an old Samsung laptop: Intel Core2 Duo P7350 @ 2.00GHz, 3GB DDR3, SATA SSD.

What is the effect of the amount of memory, Intel (amd64 architecture) CPU (because I have some experience with those) and core count on heavy tasks such as more well defined tasks: (cross) compiling world or Firefox as an upper bound.
  • At what amount of ram will I get (vastly) diminishing returns on more RAM?
  • What is the influence of core count (i.e. parallelization) on compiling?
I'm looking for ballpark influence.

I have no idea what amount of time compiling world on a modern CPU takes; if you have a (ballpark) figure, perhaps with a specific CPU and ram, I would appreciate that.

Thanks, perhaps my old laptop gave the wrong impression as to the desktop/server hardware intended. Thinking along the lines of an Intel Xeon E3-1280 v5 @ 3.70GHz and up (or perhaps even something like an Intel i7-6700HQ in my P50).

As to "loads of ram", this is a very broad ballpark amount; a little more detailed amount would be helpfull. Thinking along the lines of 32, 64, 96 & 128GB.