Remove kernel drivers

I am following the book "Absolute Freebsd" I suppose many of you will know it.

I'm in the chapter that talks about the kernel, where you can remove drivers and options that you don't need. Well I have the following problem and I can not understand why, (I am a newbie)

For example on my desktop system I don't need wireless support so I deleted the wlan device from the NOTES file of /usr/src/sys/conf with that I understood that when building a new kernel the wlan.ko module does not work. I would believe, but it is not like that, this is the output of my installkernel:
Code:
===> wlan (install)
install -T release -o root -g wheel -m 555   wlan.ko /boot/kernel/
install -T dbg -o root -g wheel -m 555   wlan.ko.debug /usr/lib/debug/boot/kernel/
===> wlan_acl (install)
install -T release -o root -g wheel -m 555   wlan_acl.ko /boot/kernel/
install -T dbg -o root -g wheel -m 555   wlan_acl.ko.debug /usr/lib/debug/boot/kernel/
===> wlan_amrr (install)
install -T release -o root -g wheel -m 555   wlan_amrr.ko /boot/kernel/
install -T dbg -o root -g wheel -m 555   wlan_amrr.ko.debug /usr/lib/debug/boot/kernel/
===> wlan_ccmp (install)
install -T release -o root -g wheel -m 555   wlan_ccmp.ko /boot/kernel/
install -T dbg -o root -g wheel -m 555   wlan_ccmp.ko.debug /usr/lib/debug/boot/kernel/
===> wlan_rssadapt (install)
install -T release -o root -g wheel -m 555   wlan_rssadapt.ko /boot/kernel/
install -T dbg -o root -g wheel -m 555   wlan_rssadapt.ko.debug /usr/lib/debug/boot/kernel/
===> wlan_tkip (install)
install -T release -o root -g wheel -m 555   wlan_tkip.ko /boot/kernel/
install -T dbg -o root -g wheel -m 555   wlan_tkip.ko.debug /usr/lib/debug/boot/kernel/
===> wlan_wep (install)
install -T release -o root -g wheel -m 555   wlan_wep.ko /boot/kernel/
install -T dbg -o root -g wheel -m 555   wlan_wep.ko.debug /usr/lib/debug/boot/kernel/
===> wlan_xauth (install)
install -T release -o root -g wheel -m 555   wlan_xauth.ko /boot/kernel/