Installing Xorg on lenovo Thinkpad t480

I followed the manual for setting up xorg on a new install of FreeBSD 12.2. I used the pkg install method. I then tried the command StartX but get a server error (1). It stays cannot run in framebuffer mode. Please specify busIDs.

I tried finding the xorg.conf file but it doesn't seem to exist. How do I troubleshoot this? I am new to FreeBSD. My goal is to install Gnome3.

Thanks

Would I
Hello,

have you installed your graphics drivers yet?

To install gpu drivers you need to install them from ports because you are using 12.2:

cd /usr/ports/graphics/drm-kmod
make install clean

(I assume that you have Intel Graphics) After installation put kld_list="/boot/modules/i915kms.ko" in /etc/rc.conf and make sure that your $USER is in the video group.
Should I use the portsnap method to install with ports? I haven't installed the ports tree yet. Would it be a problem to use the ports and also use packages for installing other things?

Would I

Should I use the portsnap method to install with ports? I haven't installed the ports tree yet. Would it be a problem to use the ports and also use packages for installing other things?

If you only install the gpu driver its fine.

You can use portsnap or svnlite checkout https://svn.FreeBSD.org/ports/head /usr/ports

As per our wonderful documentation, you can use portmaster to install drivers from the tree. You can use this site as a reference when traversing through the tree using the command line. It's just a matter of finding the port location, then pointing portmaster to it.

I dont' know what is wrong, but I think I installed drm-kmod and I put kld_list="/boot/modules/i915kms.ko" in /etc/rc.conf and make sure that your $USER is in the video group.

I installed Xorg using the ports. But when I type startx it says server terminated with error(1). Unable to connect to X server. Connection refused. Server error.