ZFS Do I need ZFS for personal laptop?

I am new to FreeBSD. I am in the process of installing on my Thinkpad t480. I plan to use Gnome3. I want to use FreeBSD because of the challenge and learning I will experience. I have used Linux in the past, but I never really learned much about how the system worked. I like how using FreeBSD will force me to learn more.

Regarding ZFS, I am not sure if I need it. It sounds good, but for personal use on a laptop is it needed? I am not sure if I should try to use it now, or first install the basic system with automatic formatting. I am sure I will have to re-install my system at some point soon, so perhaps I should hold off on adding more complexity right now.

Is it much more complex to set up ZFS? I have an SSD and internal HDD. I plan to do backups of the HDD where I will store my files.

I will need to mount to the internal hard drive. I read a previous postSSD mix HDD where some suggestions were made on this point. I tried it but couldn't figure it out. That is when I quit with the ZFS install and just installed the normal formatting option.

Are you planning to use this system long-term? Are you planning to use it to store valuable data? If no, and you're just playing and testing, use the default.

ZFS has many advantages. To me the biggest one for any system is that the data on disk is protected by checksums, so a disk failure that is not detected by the disk will be detected by the file system, and you won't be running on corrupted data. Where ZFS really shines is the fact that it integrates RAID into the file system, but on a laptop with a single disk, that won't help. There are many other advantages of ZFS, but those are the big ones. The cost of ZFS is mostly in having to do the administration differently; instead of traditional mkfs/mount commands, you end up using ZFS specific commands. Since you seem to be seeing this as a learning experience, this is probably not a big disadvantage.