Solved FreeBSD vs Linux sound quality

• Thread starter Deleted member 63539
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 63539

I used to hear on this forums many things about sound on FreeBSD and Linux. Most of them are sound on FreeBSD is superior, OSS vs ALSA/PulseAudio... But today after I tried to play Supertux2 on both FreeBSD and Linux (MX Linux), I have a very different conclusion. The sound on Linux is more round and more warm. I'm not a professional in sound and just a normal user with a cheap headphone/speaker but I simply found the sound on Linux is much better than FreeBSD. The sound on FreeBSD, IMHO, just louder... but nothing else. And it hurts my ears.

On Linux, I just use the graphical frontend to control the sound. On FreeBSD, as no graphical frontend works, I use mixer to control the sound. I didn't do anything special other than increase the volume to 100% on both Linux and FreeBSD. On Linux via the Volume icon on the System tray. On FreeBSD, via mixer -s vol 100.

Disclaimer: It's just my own experience and my own opinion and I didn't want to start a flame war. Please don't give me comments like "Let's just use Linux!". It's simply a report but nothing else.

Update: Following this definition, the sound on Linux is warm for me and the sound on FreeBSD is really bright! Maybe the sound quality on FreeBSD used to be better than Linux, but it's the past, and it no longer true now.

It depends of the player you're using too, deadbeef is my main player for music and it sound great on FreeBSD, vlc quality is not that good IMHO but there's also some tweaks out there for the sound quality for example to maintain the same sample rate of the sound file you're using etc Try out deadbeef and tell if you liked!

Greetings