How to contribute

.....works well with the way my brain is wired.....
Also, I would love to port openemr, https://www.open-emr.org/ , an electronic health record. However, I am a doctor, not a programmer, hence I would need guidance.

From today, you will be wiring your brain with software development .
it's quite the same : A doctor implants artificial organs, a FreeBSD-Programmer implants code fragments, it's all about copy&paste 😁 Ha Ha

get your fork of :

and follow their instructions to install from source:

Code:
composer install --no-dev
npm install
npm run build
composer dump-autoload -o

now you begin debugging .. you can fix bugs directly in your master-branch
or make a new branch and call it e.g. 'freebsdport' .

if you find bugs in npm/composer/php or elsewhere ,
you'll write a bug-report :
if you have fixed the bug you'll send a git-diff as an attachment to your report.
developers are normally not here in the forum.
Subscribe to your appropriate freebsd-mailing list to get in touch with devs.

but more interesting for your first steps:
I saw you're the author here :
so you seem to be good connected to openemr-community
you should talk to those openemr/node/php -devs if you have code-specific topics.
you normally do this in the issues-tab of openemr-upstream :

you`ll make a git-PR(pull request)
to openemr-upstream if opememr is interested in developing the freebsd-port with you.

the last step for committing a freebsd-port is to send a review to ours Phabricator
after you`ve made your ports-configuration (Makefile etc.), don't think about it for now..
you'll do that if you're finished with getting openemr running under FreeBSD.
But with a little luck there are only few bugs to fix in openemr and you can begin with your ports-configuration-steps...

by the way , I have nothing to do with openemr and never used it but those are the general steps you normally go for a fbsd-port which has its sources on git.

good luck !

Regards
Klaus

--- edit :--