FuryBSD - New FreeBSD Desktop OS

Hey everybody,

I'm new to the FreeBSD forums and have read through the rules, so hopefully, I won't have any faux pas. If there's a better place to post this, please let me know or feel free to move it. I'd appreciate it greatly.

I wanted to let everybody know that a few of us have gotten together and launched a new FreeBSD-based desktop project called FuryBSD. It's completely Free, Open Source, and available in a hybrid, live image right now. The goal of FuryBSD is to maintain tight integration with FreeBSD, meaning we use the tools provided in FreeBSD to maintain the OS, including updating and installing. There won't be any unnecessary tuneables. We hope that this effort will mean that users wanting a desktop experience can enjoy FreeBSD without having the Frankenstein's monster issue of additional layers of failure from custom utilities that are unsustainable to maintain. The test image is available for download from the website here.

If anyone has any questions, I'm happy to answer them, but I just wanted to try to get the word out there that there's a new FreeBSD Desktop in town. Thanks, everybody!

Disclosure: I work for iXsystems, but FuryBSD is not an iXsystems project. FuryBSD is a wholly community-driven and open-source effort. I don't want anyone to be surprised if you've seen my name before as I am involved in many other open-source projects and communities.

Thanks,

Joshua

Interesting but,
"the Frankenstein's monster issue of additional layers of failure from custom utilities that are unsustainable to maintain."
Could you provide a list of the utilities ?