Solved HP4050 allways prints out extra page with user/hostname

Hei,

I got myself a used HP4050 postscript printer.

It works well so far, but with every print job there is an additional page printed that contains the following:
Code:
User: madde
Host: nissen
Class: nissen
Job: stdin
I have now clue where that extra page is coming from and if it comes from lpr or the printer itself.

Setup was easy following the Handbook (though I'm totally new to this topic and unexperienced)
and I have setup printing via lpd.
I can print text directly via echo "some text\nand some more text" | lpr
and also printed a .pdf file from Firefox and that worked as well.

Configuration is simple and I simply followed the Handbook.
/etc/printcap
Code:
lp|hp4050:\
    :lp=:\
    :rm=hp4050:\
    :rp=auto:\
    :sh:\
    :mx#0:\
    :if=/usr/local/libexec/psif:\
    :sd=/var/spool/lpd/lp:\
    :lf=/var/log/lpd-errs:

/usr/local/libexec/psif like shown in the Handbook section 9.5.3.4

The printer has extensive menu to configure all kinds of stuff and I have configured the IP adress to use it as a network printer. I couldn't find anything in the depth of the menus (as far as I can tell) that could be responsible for that extra page.

What do the printing gurus say :D ?
I have to admit that, even if I have read all related recources prior to buying this printer like a lots of threads about printers here, the Handbook, openprinting.org but I still feel that I havn't understand everything. So I hope some learning by actually doing will help.

It sounds as if you have the "banner" turned on in your printing system. I thought it should be first (before the print job) but who knows. I don't know how to turn banner of in lpr (I use CUPS).