Solved Am I too stupid?

G

giahung1997

I've introduced myself in my first post on this forums so I don't want to copy paste it here. For short, I quit school at grade 7 and after that self taught.

Recently I played with Clang on FreeBSD, thinked that I've a full system with a decent compiler, why don't try to learn some C? And I started to learn C. After a while I stopped. So many Cs... C89, C99, C11... This language even doesn't have builtin boolean type, I've to include <stdbool.h> (thanks stackoverflow). This language doesn't have fixed data type either, int could be 4 bytes or 8 bytes depends on the system, to archive fixed types I've to include <stdint.h> or <inttypes.h> (again thanks SO). This language is just ... a mess. Or just I'm stupid? After reading a summary about C99 vs C11 on SO my head going to explode, plus the GNU extensions... I decided to quit. To my simple mind I think this language is a hacking languaged, the language of engineers, people that only want something up and do the job, and patch, trick, hack it to accomplish the job, they've not designed it to be clean, beautiful to other non-technical people can understand and use, but their own tool to get the job done then throw away do not take care for it anymore, adding more and more tricks, extensions to it to adapt to build new things but never care about consistency... so does C++. It's too complex for my stupid head. I'm too stupid.

C is a simple language designed to do whatever you want it to do. It does not confine you to anything and you can define anything you want. It is as close to the metal as you can get without using assembly language or machine code. It will not hold your hand or protect you from anything. If you want to shoot yourself in the foot, it will let you with great speed.

Your complaint is sort of the same as complaining about the alphabet. It's just a bunch of letters with no defined words. But you can make your own words and definitions.