Solved bind9 question

I'm new to DNS configuration in BIND. Today I'm using dnsmasq , for 300/400 users and iptables (in linux) but I want to migrate to FreeBSD, the only reason I can not is one rule in iptables to block youtube and other multimedia online services, the "string" rule

iptables -A FORWARD -s xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx/16 -m string --string "youtube" --algo bm --to 443 -j DROP
and later..
iptables -A FORWARD -m mac --mac-source xx.xx.xx.xx.xx.xx -m string --string "youtube" --algo bm --to 443 -j ACCEPT

I know that is job of DNS server, and here is my question, I want this:

-make a mac addresses list based acl
-make a custom rule pointed to that list that forward youtube.com requests to another host in my internal network with a custom deny access page
-and grant access to the rest of the network to the real youtube.com

Is that possible in bind9?

Last edited by a moderator:
I think you're going at it the wrong way. Set up a proxy server (Squid for example) and you can do all the filtering you want. Easy.

Dropping the packets with a firewall rule seems incredibly ugly. Also, does that rule actually work? I assumed 443 would be the port number (not that --to would be a sensible option name for that), although a string match will not find "youtube" in a HTTPS packet. Also --to is documented as "offset from which to start looking" although I think that should be "offset to stop looking". (Is it supposed to be matching DNS requests? and if so is the 443 unnecessary or a coincidence?)

I would split the network into VLANs and create a view in Bind for each VLAN. Then, in the views for the restricted clients, create a zone for each domain you want to block that just returns the IP address of your 'access denied' page.