Notebook with 2x SSD: advice?

Hi all,

I would like to install FreeBSD on an Asus Zenbook which has two 128GB SDD drives. I'm inclined towards a RAID1-type configuration.

Is this something that I should set up before the FreeBSD install? Or can the installer can deal with? That is to say, is the management of the two drives something I can do with ZFS?

Is it worth using ZFS for this installation? This notebook has 8GB of RAM and a fast processor (quad core i7), so presumably has the resources to manage ZFS; the question is whether it would be useful.

I have no experience with either FreeBSD on the desktop or ZFS. At the moment, I am leaning toward a PC-BSD install in order to get to get up to speed fairly quickly.

TIA

The specs sound very good. With your HDD-Confg you want a ZFS Mirror and the amount of RAM is absolutly fine for 128 GB.

If FreeBSD or PC-BSD works with this notebook depends on the other hardware (graphics, network controller).
Probably you can name the exact model / specs, so the experts here can try to help you with information about the support.

Regards
Markus

Thanks. The unit is an Asus Zenbook UX301L. I've got Mint installed at the moment, and here is the lscpi output:
Code:
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Haswell-ULT DRAM Controller (rev 09)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Device 0a2e (rev 09)
00:03.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation Haswell-ULT HD Audio Controller (rev 09)
00:04.0 Signal processing controller: Intel Corporation Device 0a03 (rev 09)
00:14.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation Lynx Point-LP USB xHCI HC (rev 04)
00:16.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation Lynx Point-LP HECI #0 (rev 04)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation Lynx Point-LP HD Audio Controller (rev 04)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Lynx Point-LP PCI Express Root Port 1 (rev e4)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Lynx Point-LP PCI Express Root Port 4 (rev e4)